Dessert · Dinner · Food · Restaurants · Review

Jamie’s Italian: Bullring Shopping Centre

Hey Guys!

Welcome back to RueDoesFood! So my previous post was all about my lovely little restaurant journal that I received as a gift! A few weeks ago, I went on a rather spontaneous girl’s night out for dinner to Jamie’s Italian at Bullring Shopping Centre. I have been to Jamie’s Italian once before a couple of years ago for my work Christmas Dinner, and in all honesty that night I should have just eaten at home. I won’t go into it too much, but the food was as bland as anything and on top of that, they decided to serve polenta chips instead of roast potatoes to accompany the turkey. Have you ever bitten into something expecting it to taste so good, and then you are shocked when it tastes like absolute rubbish? Yeah, well that’s the reaction I had with the roast potato-alternative. 

Opening times for Jamie’s Italian

  • Monday-Wednesday: 12pm-10pm, Thursday: 12pm-10:30pm, Friday: 12pm-11pm, Saturday: 11:30am-11pm and Sunday: 12pm-9:30pm

Anyway out of the kindness of my heart I decided to give Jamie another chance, (mainly because of the 50% discount) and this time despite a few hiccups- I enjoyed my evening! Jamie’s Italian as you can tell from the name, serves “authentic” Italian cuisine.  The layout of the restaurant as you walk in has a real rustic feel to it, with tin chairs, wooden plank walls, shelves of uniform empty bottles and lovely lights, which hung in clear glass jars. It was quite dim in there, but the abundance of candles gave the restaurant a warmer feel. The prices of food at this restaurant ranges from £3.25 to £24.75.

Jamie Decor 1

As we waited for our table, we went to the bar to order a few drinks. There was a list of new cocktails that were on special offer, so I chose the Passion fruit & Mango Crush (£5). It had passion fruit juice, mango juice as well as vodka, and topped with a passion fruit segment. I haven’t got a picture of it, but there wasn’t really anything special about it. I was disappointed because the passion fruit was so sour compared to previous ones I have tasted, and my drink was pretty watered-down because three-quarters of the glass was filled with ice.

Onto the starters!

Crispy Squid

The selection of starters were quite small, but it still packed a good variety of things to choose from: Bruchettas, Fried gnocci and a Mushroom fritti. I ordered the crispy squid – I’d say I played it safe because I was little apprehensive due to my previous dining experience. The squid was nice but I wished the batter had some more seasoning. I am not one for a lot of heat but the addition of those chillies and the tang of the lemon made my taste buds run wild! We also had the ‘ultimate garlic bread’ (£3.75), which was served in a loaf and it was amazing. Soft. Warm. Beautifully crisp on the outside. Packed with garlic and melted butter. To die for. 

Then you’ve got the main. And this is where my visit went a little downhill. I ordered the 35-Day 8oz Sirloin Steak medium, topped with truffle shavings (£24.95) which was served with herby garlic butter and funky chips. Everyone else had ordered pizzas. My seat was facing the kitchen so I could see the chef at work, whilst waiters and waitresses took dishes from the pass to designated tables.

First of all, the wait for the food was quite long at around 45 minutes. About 25 minutes into the wait, I saw steak and chips on the pass and no staff were taking it to a table. I sat there and stared at the steak hoping it wasn’t mine. After 20 minutes,  the pizzas arrived, and a waitress picked up the steak that had been sitting there for a good 20 minutes and placed it in front of me. Just my luck. I had a piece of the steak and it was luke-warm. I don’t know how they managed to time the orders so wrong. I spoke to the manager who rushed back to the kitchen for the chef to make me a new one. I waited for another 15 minutes whilst I watched everyone else eat 😦

When my food arrived for the second time, the steak was salty and you couldn’t taste the garlic butter. The funky chips turned out to be chunky chips with pieces of thinly sliced garlic and parsley that were mediocre. 

Sirloin and funky chips

For dessert, I had the epic chocolate brownie with salted caramel ice-cream an caramelised popcorn (£5.75). It looked so so good but the brownie was too rich for me and didn’t have that gooey consistency that I wanted. I reckon if my eyes were closed, I would have guessed that the ice-cream was vanilla flavoured, so that was not really up to scratch either. Sorry Jamie!

Brownie and saltedcaramel

Overall, my experience at Jamie’s Italian was very average, if not below par. The staff were friendly, but unfortunately the food was not as great and the service was painfully slow. For that reason, I give 3 stars- Maybe if I tried a pasta dish I would have been more satisfied, but who knows! 

Thanks again for reading my post and if you do have any questions about my recommendation or there is something you are not sure about feel free to drop a comment below:)

Whose food? Rue’s Food!

Rue-Ann x

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

